East Coast Outrigger Racing Association

East Coast Outrigger Racing Association

OC1/OC2 Point-Series Rules & Divisions

Download ECORA Race Rules
OC1/OC2 ECORA Point-Series Race Schedule

  • Paddlers must race in a minimum of three (3) Point-Series Events and must also be ECORA members in good standing to be eligible for Point-Series points and awards.
  • Point-Series points will be awarded for long course races only. No short course races will be eligible.
  • A 12-point system will be used, with 1st place receiving 12 points, 2nd place receiving 11 points, and so on. At 12th place and beyond, 1 point will be awarded.
  • There will be separate 12-points systems in use for each racing classification: OC1 Men, OC1 Women, OC2 Men, OC2 Mixed and OC2 Women. Thus, within a racing classification, all applicable age groups compete for the same set of points. Although records are maintained of placement in races, Stand-Up Paddling is not a Point-Series event.
  • The one exception to the 12-points system will be at the East Coast Championships. There, points will be awarded based on the number of participants. For example, if there are 18 OC1 Men racing, then an 18-point structure will be awarded, with 18 points going to 1st place, and so on, down to the 1 point to the 18th place finisher. If less than 12 paddlers compete in a classification, the 12 points system will be used.
  • The ECORA OC1/OC2 Point-Series Champions (determined for each age group) will be the paddler or team who earns the most points in his/her/their best 6 finishes. So, a paddler does not have to compete in all races, but only the best 6 scores will be counted.
  • If there is a tie for points in any age group, the first tiebreaker will be the total number of points for all races, if applicable. The second tiebreaker will be participation and placement at the East Coast Championships, if applicable. The third tiebreaker will be the best placements in individual race standings, if applicable.
  • All OC1/OC2 paddlers will be assigned a boat number by ECORA.

OC1/OC2 Racing Classifications & Age Groups

ECORA OC1/OC2 Point-Series Categories

OC6 Point-Series Rules & Scoring System

  • The OC6 Point-Series structure mirrors that of the OC1/OC2 Point-Series, but with a maximum of 6 points in three divisions (Men's OC6, Women's OC6 and Mixed OC6).
  • Thus, in each OC6 division, 6 points will be awarded for 1st place, 5 points for 2nd place, 4 points for 4rd place, 3 points for 4th place, 2 points for 5th place and 1 point for 6th place and beyond.
  • When ECORA Sprint Championships are held (as was done in 2007 for the Philly Sprints) and ECORA Point-Series points are awarded, only overall event points, not individual race points, will be counted in the ECORA Point-Series calculations.

NOTE: For clarification on any ECORA Point-Series rules, please contact ECORA President.

Current Point Series Standing

ECORA OC-1/2 Point Series Standings for 2017
(Unofficial Results: Updated 10.31.2017)

ECORA OC-1/2 Point Series Standings for 2016
(Updated 10.10.2016)

ECORA OC-6 Point Series Standings for 2016.
  • 1st Place: Washington Canoe Club
  • 2nd Place (tie): Philadelphia Outrigger Canoe Club and NCA Outrigger.

Upcoming Events